Skilled Lawyers for an Effective DWI Defense
If you have been charged with DWI for the first time, you may be wondering if you can receive reduced charges. After all, it’s your first offense. Unfortunately, it’s not that simple. New Jersey prosecutors are prohibited from plea bargaining DWI or Refusal charges. That means you cannot receive a reduced charge on a New Jersey DWI first offense or Refusal first offense, but an experienced, effective attorney may be able to challenge your case.
At The Law Offices of Marshall, Bonus, Proetta & Oliver, you will find NJ DWI lawyers who have the skills, ability and dedication to provide you with an aggressive defense that preserves your rights and helps to reduce or eliminate the harsh consequences of DWI.
Stiff Consequences for Even a First Offense
In New Jersey, the potential penalties for a first DWI will depend on the results of your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test.
- BAC between .08 and .10: The potential consequences include three months’ license suspension, a fine between $250 and $400, and up to 30 days in jail.
- BAC of .10 or higher: The potential consequences include a license suspension between seven months and one year, a $300 to $500 fine and up to 30 days in jail.
In addition, you can expect your insurance rates to skyrocket and may face other significant consequences for a DWI conviction.
Overcoming the Plea Bargain Prohibition
These are harsh penalties. Unfortunately, because of the prohibition against plea bargaining, for a first-offense DWI charge you cannot reach an agreement to plead guilty to reduced charges such as reckless driving or a lower level of first-offense DWI. You must either get the breath test results thrown out, challenge other evidence in your case, or face the conviction.
Our lawyers include former municipal and city prosecutors. We have an in-depth knowledge of the breath-testing procedure in New Jersey. In fact, five of our lawyers are certified to use and operate breath test machines, giving you the benefit of a firm with unparalleled knowledge of DWI procedures.
Contact a New Jersey DUI Lawyer — Free Initial Consultation
With nine locations in New Jersey, we have an office near you and lawyers who are familiar with your court system. Schedule your free initial consultation with our law firm today online or at 877-450-8301. Se habla español.
Related DWI Links & Information
|New Brunswick DWI Attorney||Hamilton NJ DUI Attorney|
|Roselle Park DWI Lawyer||Howell NJ DWI Lawyer|
|Neptune DUI Lawyer||Tinton Falls NJ DWI Attorney|